Report Chapter

BCSIA Annual Report, 1980-1981: Organization and Personnel

2. Organization and Personnel



Leadership and management of the Center were provided by a five-member directing staff:

Paul Doty, Director of CSIA and Mallinckrodt Professor of Biochemistry; Michael Nacht, Associate Director of CSIA and Associate Professor of Public Policy in the Kennedy School of Government; David Deese, Assistant to the Director of CSIA; Dorothy Zinberg, Director of Seminars and Special Projects and Lecturer in Public Policy in the Kennedy School of Government; and Albert Carnesale, Senior Faculty Research Associate and Professor of Public Policy in the Kennedy School of Government.

Advisory Committee

Guidance and direction were provided through individual communications with members of the Center''s Advisory Committee.

Members of the Committee (other than the CSIA directing staff, who serve ex officio) were:

Graham T. Allison, Dean of the Kennedy School of Government and Don K. Price Professor of Politics, Harvard University;

Harvey Brooks, Benjamin Peirce Professor of Technology and Public Policy, Harvard University;

Abram J. Chayes, Felix Frankfurter Professor of Law, Harvard Law School;

Richard Garwin, Professor of Public Policy, Kennedy School of Government, and IBM Fellow, Thomas Watson Research Center;

Stanley Hoffmann, C. Douglas Dillon Professor of the Civilization of France and Chairman of the Center for European Studies, Harvard University;

*Spurgeon M. Keeny, Jr., Deputy Director, Arms Control and Disarmament Agency;

Joseph S. Nye, Professor of Government, Harvard University, and Professor of Public Policy, Kennedy School of Government;

George W. Rathjens, Professor of Political Science, MIT;

Jack P. Ruina, Professor of Electrical Engineering, MIT;

Thomas C. Schelling, Lucius N. Littauer Professor of Political Economy, Kennedy School of Government;

*Marshall C. Shulman, Senior Advisor on Soviet Affairs to the Secretary of State, Department of State;

Eugene B. Skolnikoff, Professor of Political Science and Director of the Center for International Studies, MIT;

John D. Steinbruner, Director of Foreign Policy Studies, The Brookings Institution, Washington, D.C.

*On leave while in Government service.

Research Staff

Listed on the following pages are the members of the research staff (including graduate students) in residence at CSIA during 1980-81. For each member, there appears also the fraction of salary support provided by CSIA, other sources of research support, and his/her affiliation(s) after 1980-81.


Brooks, H.
Carnesale, A.
Charles, M.
Colglazier, E.W.
Deese, D.
Doty, P.
Epstein, J.
Eriksson, L.
Hackel, E.
Hampson, F.
Hussein, F.
Jones, C.
Keck, O.
Leebaert, D.
Mandelbaum, M.
Meyer, S.
Miller, L.
Miller, S.
Nacht, M.
Nye, J.
Posen, B.
Poulose, T.
Samore, G.
Sharp, J.
Smith N.
Thomas, R.
Zinberg, D.

Supporting Staff

The administrators and research staff were aided by a competent supporting staff. Lis Bernstein administered the 3,000 volume library, assisted by Karen Herder. Melissa Healy served as assistant managing editor of the Center''s journal, International Security, and administrative assistance was provided by Gina Latimer. Secretarial services were provided by Zarina Gomez-Mont, Billie Lawrence, Nancy Horton, Carolyn $huster, Christie Schofield, Mary Ann Spano-Wells, and Marian Turner.

CSIA Library Dedication

In ceremonies held in April 1981 the library and seminar room of the Center for Science and International Affairs was dedicated in honor of T. Jefferson Patterson, career diplomat who graduated from Harvard Law School in 1916. Instrumental in arranging the ceasefire between Egypt and Israel in January 1949 while serving as deputy chief of the U.S. mission in Egypt, Patterson died in 1977 after serving in Peking, Istanbul, Breslau, Oslo, Bern, Brussels, and Uruguay. During his lifetime, he developed a library of more than 4,000 books on government, economics and foreign affairs. A selected portion was recently donated to the Kennedy School of Government Library. Attending the dedication was Patterson''s wife, Marvin Breckinridge Patterson. Mrs. Patterson, who has donated many books to the Schlesinger Library, has been a writer, broadcaster, and photographer.

Table of Contents:


Organization and Personnel

Research and PublicationsSeminarsOther Program ActivitiesRelated Professional ActivitiesFormer Members of the Research Staff

For more information on this publication: Please contact the Belfer Communications Office
For Academic Citation: BCSIA. “BCSIA Annual Report, 1980-1981: Organization and Personnel.” In BCSIA Annual Report, 1980-1981. .