Book - Oxford University Press

The New Harvest: Agricultural Innovation in Africa

| January 2011



    African agriculture is currently at a crossroads, at which persistent food shortages are compounded by threats from climate change. But, as this book argues, Africa faces three major opportunities that can transform its agriculture into a force for economic growth: advances in science and technology; the creation of regional markets; and the emergence of a new crop of entrepreneurial leaders dedicated to the continent's economic improvement.

    Filled with case studies from within Africa and success stories from developing nations around the world, The New Harvest outlines the policies and institutional changes necessary to promote agricultural innovation across the African continent. Incorporating research from academia, government, civil society, and private industry, the book suggests multiple ways that individual African countries can work together at the regional level to develop local knowledge and resources, harness technological innovation, encourage entrepreneurship, increase agricultural output, create markets, and improve infrastructure.

    The New Harvest is a product of the Agricultural Innovation in Africa Project, funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.


    • Integrates research and policy ideas from an international panel of some of the most influential thinkers on agricultural development
    • Presents enactable policy ideas for advancing agriculture throughout Africa, at the national and regional levels
    • Includes a wealth of case study material from Green Revolution and educational initiatives in India, China, and throughout Latin America

    Buy This Book

    The New Harvest: Agricultural Innovation in Africa

    The New Harvest: Agricultural Innovation in Africa
    For more information on this publication: Please contact Science, Technology, and Globalization
    For Academic Citation: Juma, Calestous. The New Harvest: Agricultural Innovation in Africa. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, January 2011.