A Storify overview of this interview is now available: https://storify.com/SciTechGlobal/africa-and-china-in-a-changing-world-order-a-chat

***

Join Professor Calestous Juma @Calestous for a Twitter interview with Julie Gichuru@juliegichuru on trade and diplomatic relations between China and Africa. The interview will be held at 06:00 EDT on June 10, 2014. The hashtag for this event is #SinoAfrica.

By the end of 2014 China is projected to overtake the US as the world’s largest economy.  China’s global economic influence has triggered considerable debates over its relations with emerging regions, especially African countries.  A recent study argues that despite political interest in the relations, Africa is not a significant part of China’s foreign policy.

The interview examines the long-term implications of China’s growing economic strength for Africa’s place in the international community. It reviews Africa’s changing international trade and diplomatic outlook in light of its relations with China. It explores how Africa-China relations could be used to define new international development cooperation strategies that reflect contemporary global realities.

Please forward your advance questions and comments to Julie Gichuru @juliegichuru

Live:

Beijing – 18:00 CST
Tokyo – 19:00 JST
New Delhi –15:30 IST
Dubai – 14:00 GST
Addis Ababa – 13:00 EAT
Cairo – 13:00 EAT
Nairobi – 13:00 EAT
Abuja – 11:00 WAT
London – 11:00 GMT
Boston/New York - 06:00 EDT
Seattle – 03:00 PDT
Honolulu – 00:00 HST