Anders Fogh Rasmussen is former Secretary-General of NATO. He was Prime Minister of Denmark from 2001 to 2009. While acting as Danish Prime Minister, he assumed the rotating Presidency of the European Union and was influential in completing accession negotiations with ten candidates for EU membership, among them Poland and Cyprus.

He previously held numerous high-level governmental posts, including as Minister for Economic Affairs in the Conservative-Liberal coalition Government (1990-1992) and as Minister for Taxation (1987-1992) and acted as Danish negotiator of and signatory to the Maastricht Treaty while Minister for Economic Affairs and member of the EU’s ECOFIN-council. Rasmussen was also Vice-Chairman of the Folketing’s Foreign Policy Board from 1998 to 2001. Rasmussen passed the baccalaureate at Viborg Katedralskole in 1972 and studied economics at the University of Aarhus, earning a M.Sc. in Economics in 1978.

Rasmussen is a spring 2015 Fisher Family Fellow at the Future of Diplomacy Project at the Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs. During his time with the project, Ramesh will lead a two-session study group focusing on the relationship between the U.S. and Europe, and Russia's rapidly shifting profile in international relations.

Last Updated: